Skip to content ↓

The Sacred Heart Language College

carnegie shadowing scheme 2018

Carnegie winner revealed

The Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people.  Thirty two Year 8 and 9 students and nine members of staff took part in the Carnegie  Shadowing group.  They read and reviewed eight books and awarded points for style of writing,  characters and overall enjoyment.  To celebrate this event a lunchtime ‘Winners’ Party was held on 18th June where the winner of the Carnegie Medal ‘Where the World Ends' by Geraldine McCaughrean was announced. This book was our groups least favourite book and was met with shocked faces when revealed. Our winner was 'After the Fire' by Will Hill. The winner of the 2018 Amnesty CILIP Honours was 'The Hate U Give' by Angie Thomas. Both the girls and staff who took part were enthusiastic and committed to reading a book a week. Well to done all who participated. 

Click here to view photos

Our group made a video of their experience.


You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please